HOME 2017-04-04T11:31:09+00:00

The Endangered Species Act (ESA) was signed into law in 1973 to protect animal and plant species at risk of extinction due to habitat changes or loss. The ESA is intended to conserve the habitats and to foster the recovery of threatened or endangered animal and plant species across the United States based on sound data and science. And though the ESA was never intended to be used by environmental organizations as a litigation tool, it has since been abused in order to halt development or destroy economic growth and job creation while diverting millions of taxpayer dollars away from species recovery.

Over the past few years, there have been numerous efforts in Texas, New Mexico, Colorado, Oklahoma, and elsewhere to list species as endangered and place hundreds of thousands of acres of land off-limits to economic development. And a new, stronger wave of threats is expected.

Click here to learn more >>

Search Species by Region

Click on a region of the map to view more details about endangered species found in that area.

Latest News

Weekly Newsletter – 8/11/17

ICYMI: The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service announced a six-month extension on the deadline for making a final ESA listing determination for the Texas hornshell. The public comment period is open until September 11th. New species pages: IPAA has developed new species pages for the Texas hornshell and the Rusty-patched bumble bee, now available on the ESA Watch website. Issues [...]

Weekly Newsletter – 7/28/17

CAP report looks at sage grouse plans. In a new report published this week, the Center for American Progress (CAP) claims that Interior Secretary Zinke favored oil and natural gas development in his review of the sage grouse conservation management plan and potential public land use.  The author of the report, CAP senior fellow Jim Lyons, noted certain language in [...]

Weekly Newsletter – 7/21/17

Interior to announce lesser prairie-chicken listing in fall. The White House released its Unified Agenda this week, including plans from the Interior Department to issue a proposed rule on whether to list the lesser prairie chicken under the Endangered Species Act. Fish and Wildlife initially listed the grouse species as threatened in March 2014, but removed it in September 2016 after a Texas court judge ruled it [...]